A Day to Celebrate

Tihmily Li, Communications Officer
An excited buzz fills the John Bassett Theatre lobby as students arrive early in the morning on June 16 for Celebration Day. It’s been two years since the last in-person, full-school Celebration Day and graduation with Greenwood families in attendance. And you could feel the excitement not only from the students, but also from staff and families. 

In the morning, we celebrated the recipients of Student Growth, Civic Character, Roundtable Volunteer Recognition, Intellectual Character, Performance Character and the John Latimer Awards. Graduating students Daniel Pike ‘22 and Sophie Fell ‘22 shared their personal Greenwood journeys that helped shape and prepare them for their next steps. The outgoing Heads of Student Leadership, Kristina Désormeaux ‘22 and Charlie Baillie ‘22, presented their final address and passed the torch to the incoming Heads of Student Leadership. We also paid special recognition to longtime teacher Colleen Petch who received a standing ovation for her hard work and dedication to Greenwood for the past 19 years. Finally, the morning ceremony concluded with a final House points reveal, with House Fraser receiving the Greenwood Cup.

In the afternoon, the Class of 2022 returned to the theatre for their graduation ceremony. Select staff members spoke about each graduating student before the student received their diploma. At multiple occasions, the audience laughed and cheered as staff shared anecdotes about each student. It was a welcome sight to see families and supporters in attendance at the ceremony. There were also special musical interludes with performances by Colette Pitts ‘22, Zack Paton ‘22 and Sydney Smith ‘22.

Student Growth Award Recipients
  • Samuel Claydon '27
  • Chloe Pooley '27
  • Stella Seed '26
  • Oliver Tanenbaum '26
  • Alec Farah '25
  • Sophie wood '25
  • Katherine Britt '24
  • Cassius Galloway '24
  • Caleb Hibbert '24
  • Ziggi Kafka '23
  • Oliver Popper '23
  • Ryan Alexander '22
  • Sasha Loubert '22
  • Grace MacLauchlan '22
Performance Character Award Recipients
  • Miles Brown '23
  • Makenna Lacy '22
  • Teagan Millar '22
  • Maurya Shah '22
  • Erin Stewart '22
Civic Character Award Recipients
  • William Bates '22
  • Clara Duffy '24
  • Caleb Hibbert '24
  • Russell Litwin '23
Intellectual Character Award Recipients
  • For Grade 7: Jordon Mao '27 and Ellie Yantsulis '27
  • For Grade 8: Theo Maceroni '26 and Olivia Wellman '26
  • For Grade 9: Kylie Armstrong '25 and Ainsley Parker '25
  • For Grade 10: Evan Edgell '24 and Isabelle McEvily '24
  • For Grade 11: Curtis Li '23 and Rhiannon O'Brien '23
  • For Grade 12: Tessa Palmert '22 and Daniel Pike '22
Moral Character Award (The John Latimer Award) Recipient
  • David Lawee '22
Graduate Award Recipients
  • Grizzly Award: Sydney Smith '22
  • Rex Tayor OE Paddle Award: Leila Shapiro '22
  • UofT Book Award: Daniel Pike '22
  • Governor General's Academic Medal: Tessa Palmert '22
  • Valedictorian: Sam White '22
To access and download individual photos from Celebration Day and graduation, please see the instructions in the Life @ Greenwood email sent on June 23.
No comments have been posted

Greenwood College School

443 Mount Pleasant Road
Toronto, ON M4S 2L8
Tel: 416 482 9811
We acknowledge with gratitude the Ancestral lands upon which our main campus is situated. These lands are the Ancestral territories of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, Anishinabek and the Wendake. The shared responsibility of this land is honoured in the Dish with One Spoon Treaty and as settlers, we strive to care for the land, the waters, and all creatures in the spirit of peace. We are responsible for respecting and supporting the enduring presence of all First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples. When away from this campus we vow to be respectful to the land by protecting and honouring it. We will create relationships with the people and the land we may visit by understanding the territories we enter and the nations who inhabit them.
Copyright © 2022 Greenwood College School