Celebration Day 2023

Tihmily Li, Communications Officer
The John Bassett Theatre lobby filled with excited chatter and energy as students arrived early in the morning on June 16 for Celebration Day. The day is a celebration to honour this year’s award recipients and our Leaving Class of 2023. 

In the morning, we celebrated the recipients of Student Growth, Civic Character, Roundtable Volunteer Recognition, Intellectual Character, Performance Character and the John Latimer Awards. Graduating students Ella Davidson ‘23 and Gil Carter ‘23 shared their personal Greenwood journeys that helped shape and prepare them for their next steps. The outgoing Heads of Student Leadership, Ellie Deegan ‘23 and Curtis Li ‘23, presented their final address and passed the torch to the incoming Heads of Student Leadership. The Greenwood Choir treated the audience to two special performances of Seasons of Love from the Broadway musical, Rent, and with accompaniment from the jazz band, What I Wouldn’t Do / North Star Calling, a KidsHelpPhone campaign anthem. We also paid special recognition to staff members who are leaving Greenwood and returning staff members in the fall. Finally, the morning ceremony concluded with a final House points reveal, with House Wernham receiving the Greenwood Cup.

In the afternoon, the Class of 2023 returned to the theatre for their graduation ceremony. Select staff members spoke about each graduating student before the student received their diploma. 
Student Growth Award Recipients
  • Leonardo Aspesi ‘28
  • Simon Pestrin ‘28
  • Annabelle Pikar ‘27
  • Maddy Shaw ‘27
  • Sophia Martins '26
  • Rachel Scobie '26
  • Max Sims ‘26
  • Devon Hollyoak '25
  • Avery Shaw '25
  • Ben Aspden ‘24
  • Cassius Galloway '24
  • Georgia Robinson '24
  • Miles Brown ‘23
  • Sadie Greenhut ‘'23
  • Kyle Wormsbecher '23
Performance Character Award Recipient
  • Curtis Li ‘23
Civic Character Award Recipient
  • Evan Edgell ‘24
Intellectual Character Award Recipients
  • For Grade 7: Jasmine Chen '28 and Maya Kassam ‘28
  • For Grade 8: Chloe Pooley ‘27 and Ellie Yantsulis ‘27
  • For Grade 9: Coco Aylward ‘26, Sebastian Bryce ‘26, Andy Li ‘26 and Claire Sparling '26
  • For Grade 10: Mel Edgell '25, Lucy Lapowich ‘25, Claudia Schmid ‘25 and Danielle Tylman '25
  • For Grade 11: Evan Edgell '24 and Izzy McEvily '24
  • For Grade 12: James Fowler ‘23, James Lu ‘23, Seamus McKeag ‘23 and Cindy Zhang '23
Moral Character Award (The John Latimer Award) Recipient
  • Rhiannon O’Brien ‘23
Graduate Award Recipients
  • Grizzly Award: Ellie Deegan ‘23
  • Rex Tayor OE Paddle Award: Nathan Barry ‘23
  • UofT Book Award: James Fowler ‘23
  • Governor General's Academic Medal: Seamus McKeag ‘23
  • Valedictorian: Phoebe Starnino ‘23
No comments have been posted

Greenwood College School

443 Mount Pleasant Road
Toronto, ON M4S 2L8
Tel: 416 482 9811
We acknowledge with gratitude the Ancestral lands upon which our main campus is situated. These lands are the Ancestral territories of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, Anishinabek and the Wendake. The shared responsibility of this land is honoured in the Dish with One Spoon Treaty and as settlers, we strive to care for the land, the waters, and all creatures in the spirit of peace. We are responsible for respecting and supporting the enduring presence of all First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples. When away from this campus we vow to be respectful to the land by protecting and honouring it. We will create relationships with the people and the land we may visit by understanding the territories we enter and the nations who inhabit them.
Copyright © 2022 Greenwood College School